*some assembly required



Second First Steps
assembled @ 9:11 p.m. on 2004-10-26

My baby boy took his first steps today. Like Pearl, he cried, but not because it scared him. He was already crying and pissed off because I was holding his hand and walking instead of picking him up. He got so angry that he pulled his hand away from mine and walked after me before he realized what he had done. Then he grinned because we were all cheering for him. It's funny, even from this morning he seemed a little different, like he grew while we were all sleeping unaware, and he's been "speaking" all day; saying "Ha, Dada!" and waving hello (to all three of us). Saying "SAH bee!" and stretching his arms over his head to show me how big he's getting. I had always thought that the line between baby and toddler was a fuzzier one, more gradual, but it's like he crossed it overnight. Amazing. I can't call him my baby anymore.

And he may need glasses. Or an eyepatch. We have to wait until December 15th (the hell?! That's really the soonest we can get an appointment?) to find out. We can always practice by dressing him as a pirate for Halloween and teaching him how to say, "Arrrr!"

--------------------------------------------

I had a real, live, grown-up friend visit me the other day. It was so much fun, and I laugh at myself that I always forget how wonderful it is to hang out with girlfriends. The day before visits, even before visiting D, who I see weekly, I'm always so nervous, like I'm afraid I'm going to say something dumb, or even worse, have nothing to say at all. Jen, fortunately, isn't a scary monster, and we had a great time, snarking about Macaulay Culkin in The Nutcracker, speaking at length about knitting and children and adoption and life in general. I completely forgot to be nervous, and I promise it won't be 8 months before we hang out again.

She's going to be such an awesome mom (again).

--N

then || now

NAVIGATION
current
archives
cast
rings
profile
email
notes
guestbook
design
diaryland


I AM a 30-year-old mother of 2. I'm a singer, a songwriter, an independent business woman, an artist, a seer of beauty in all things. Welcome.

FEELING The current mood of nightngale_@hotmail.com at www.imood.com

DAILY READS

caerula
evilena
smartypants
weetabix
neon7c
plain-jane
mercurial73


LATELY
My New Page - 2006-04-15
Life is a Magic Thing, Woah. - 2005-11-18
No Dooce for You! - 2005-11-09
The Nicest Thing Anyone Has Ever Said To Me - 2005-09-05
Ugh. Grunt. Some Other Stuff. - 2005-09-01

RANDOM ENTRY

NOW PLAYING
Yuki Kajiura - A Stray Child
Staind - Zoe Jane
Carrie Treder - Inside Glow
Saliva - Rest In Pieces
Chad Kroeger - Hero
India Arie - Ready for Love
Sting - When We Dance

The WeatherPixie

My eBay Sales

Coveting: Hummingbird Spindles (scroll down)and Spinderella's Thrums. That would be like spinning magic.

NOTES
(log in?)
DISCLAIMER
I can't imagine there would be much here to offend anyone, and you're also not required to read these words. If you don't like them, thanks for stopping by, and adios!

all words � ME, 2005.