*some assembly required



Silence Can Be Golden
assembled @ 9:42 p.m. on 2004-02-23

I remember before Pearl learned to talk, and how excited I was, how much I anticipated those first words. Now, though I am glad she's as verbal as she is, and as smart as she is, there are times when I wish, for just a moment, that she didn't know so much. Hell, she's so funny though.

Two such examples happened just this evening, in front of my ultra-Catholic father-in-law. The first was during the blessing he says before our meal. We're all quiet while Grandpa (and Hero, too, since he was raised that way) is saying the prayers, and then next to me is a loud little whisper, "Oh, Mommy! I farted!" The second was just after dinner, when we were talking about Sprout's four-month well-baby checkup, which took place today. Pearl started naming all of the parts that the doctor checked. "He checked he's eyes, he's ears, he's bagina...." I calmly (on the outside, because my inside was laughing loudly) told her that Sprout didn't have one of those. So Pearl, ever the smart girl says, "Oh, yeah! He has a penis! Like Daddy! And Grandpa!" Oh God. You know, I truly believe it's a good thing that she knows all the parts of her body, and the correct terms for them, but I can't wait until she understands the appropriate times to talk about those things. Geesh. Still. It was kind of funny.

--------------------------------------------

Speaking of Sprout's checkup, the boy is huge. 17 lbs, 3 oz and 27 inches at 4 months, with two little teeth, and we started him on rice cereal last week. The time is flying. However, the poor boy has inherited eczema from his father, and it's been showing up in a huge patch on his right cheek. I didn't know what it was (though I suspected), and we've had to put socks on his little hands, to keep him from scratching his face until it bleeds. Poor little guy. I thought I was either going to cry or throw up when the doctor wrote out a prescription for us. Not because eczema is debilitating, or anything like that, but because we don't have medical insurance. The well-baby visits we've been paying for out-of-pocket, and billing his immunizations to the Public Health Department. But a prescription... I just didn't know what we were going to do. But I forget that I am blessed, and when I called my mom to update her on Sprout's vital stats, she said that she would call her friends in a neighboring doctor's office, and see if they had any samples that we could have. (My mom is an office manager in a podiatrist's office). 15 minutes later, she told me that her friend at our pediatrician's had packed up a whole bag of samples for us, and we just needed to go back to the office and pick them up by 5 pm. Doesn't my mom rule? And I am so relieved, too. I think that this event also kicked Hero in the ass, just a little, and when we got home, he started going through the classified ads, in the paper and online. In a rare fit of mischievousness on my part, I told him that, when he got a job, I would get a pedicure and get my toenails painted (he thinks that's really cute). Who knows, maybe that will be just the inspiration he needs. And hey, I get a pedicure out of it. Go me!

--N

then || now

NAVIGATION
current
archives
cast
rings
profile
email
notes
guestbook
design
diaryland


I AM a 30-year-old mother of 2. I'm a singer, a songwriter, an independent business woman, an artist, a seer of beauty in all things. Welcome.

FEELING The current mood of nightngale_@hotmail.com at www.imood.com

DAILY READS

caerula
evilena
smartypants
weetabix
neon7c
plain-jane
mercurial73


LATELY
My New Page - 2006-04-15
Life is a Magic Thing, Woah. - 2005-11-18
No Dooce for You! - 2005-11-09
The Nicest Thing Anyone Has Ever Said To Me - 2005-09-05
Ugh. Grunt. Some Other Stuff. - 2005-09-01

RANDOM ENTRY

NOW PLAYING
Yuki Kajiura - A Stray Child
Staind - Zoe Jane
Carrie Treder - Inside Glow
Saliva - Rest In Pieces
Chad Kroeger - Hero
India Arie - Ready for Love
Sting - When We Dance

The WeatherPixie

My eBay Sales

Coveting: Hummingbird Spindles (scroll down)and Spinderella's Thrums. That would be like spinning magic.

NOTES
(log in?)
DISCLAIMER
I can't imagine there would be much here to offend anyone, and you're also not required to read these words. If you don't like them, thanks for stopping by, and adios!

all words � ME, 2005.