*some assembly required



All I Really Needed to Know, I Learned at the Habitrail
assembled @ 9:53 p.m. on 2004-02-21

We took Pearl to a different local mall to play today. This mall has a gigundous habitrail-like play area, which you have to pay to use, and into which a parent must accompany her child who is under four years old. At first, I thought this was a Bad Thing, but wow, did I learn a lot from it....

"Futile": A two-year-old trying to pick up every ball in the ball pit.

"Disappointment": The face of that same two-year-old when a mall employee informs her she has to be four years old to drive one of the ten or so Power Wheels in the structure.

"Embarassment": What I felt when another mother slipped between two foam pillars, a split second after I said the space was too small for "us" to fit through. Correction: I am too big to fit through there. Geesh.

I also learned a bit about biology, in that it is physically impossible for children in a ball pit not to throw the balls. And anthropology, noticing the alternate cruelty and kindness of children, as one boy threw balls at Pearl's head for no reason, but another helped my crying daughter across a wiggly rope bridge. In physiology, I noticed that, though my body is not as young as it used to be, my inner child is alive and kicking. This place was just plain cool.

The biggest thing I learned today? My daughter rocks.

--N

then || now

NAVIGATION
current
archives
cast
rings
profile
email
notes
guestbook
design
diaryland


I AM a 30-year-old mother of 2. I'm a singer, a songwriter, an independent business woman, an artist, a seer of beauty in all things. Welcome.

FEELING The current mood of nightngale_@hotmail.com at www.imood.com

DAILY READS

caerula
evilena
smartypants
weetabix
neon7c
plain-jane
mercurial73


LATELY
My New Page - 2006-04-15
Life is a Magic Thing, Woah. - 2005-11-18
No Dooce for You! - 2005-11-09
The Nicest Thing Anyone Has Ever Said To Me - 2005-09-05
Ugh. Grunt. Some Other Stuff. - 2005-09-01

RANDOM ENTRY

NOW PLAYING
Yuki Kajiura - A Stray Child
Staind - Zoe Jane
Carrie Treder - Inside Glow
Saliva - Rest In Pieces
Chad Kroeger - Hero
India Arie - Ready for Love
Sting - When We Dance

The WeatherPixie

My eBay Sales

Coveting: Hummingbird Spindles (scroll down)and Spinderella's Thrums. That would be like spinning magic.

NOTES
(log in?)
DISCLAIMER
I can't imagine there would be much here to offend anyone, and you're also not required to read these words. If you don't like them, thanks for stopping by, and adios!

all words � ME, 2005.