*some assembly required



The Halloween That Wasn't
assembled @ 3:15 p.m. on 2004-11-02

I voted today! Go me! I feel inordinately proud of myself, for no reason other than I performed my patriotic duty. Still, I�ll take that pride where I can get it.

I don�t still have a migraine, though it did last two days, which is unusual for me. Leaving that last entry up for so long bugged me, as if people are checking back, thinking, �Damn, that�s some headache!� No, I survived, even after waking the next morning to splintered glass vision, from nightmares of giant bugs crawling up my arm. Going back to sleep seemed to take care of that. Thank God.

Halloween at our house was just sad. I love Halloween. I love to dress up in costumes, and will grab on tightly to any excuse to do it. Pearl was excited to be dressing up as a black cat, and wore her costume (which I pieced together myself, superb parent that I am) almost every day. The Saturday before Halloween there was a Kids� Night Out at the local Kroger, and I dressed up the wee ones (Sprout as a little gray mouse) and headed over. Pearl loved coloring her own pumpkin, and making an Oreo tower (she did better than many of the older kids). The rest, however, was a scream fest. And not in the, �Oooh, scary Halloween fun!� way. Scream fest in the, �Mama, I�m only three years old, why the heck would I want FREE CANDY!� way. Trick-or-treating the next night was the same, spiced up by the fact that we missed the single hour that Clarkston sets for trick-or-treating. The online version of the Clarkston News said 7 to 8 pm, and we arrived at Grandpa�s right at 7 pm. The trick-or-treating was at 6. Also, by this time, Pearl had fallen asleep and was almost impossible to rouse. I did it, though, thinking that, if we let her miss the fun, she would cry until next Halloween. So I shook her awake gently, let her know we had to hurry, and we crossed the street to our former neighbors� house. She instantly burst into tears and hid behind us. She went to one other house, about half an hour later, because apparently, we wanted a repeat performance. Still, another neighbor, who we know as �Mrs. Amy� gave Pearl enough M&M�s to fill her basket, and Pearl�s mom and dad were relieved that there would still be candy to �share� with their daughter.

At least I got to wear a costume!

--N

then || now

NAVIGATION
current
archives
cast
rings
profile
email
notes
guestbook
design
diaryland


I AM a 30-year-old mother of 2. I'm a singer, a songwriter, an independent business woman, an artist, a seer of beauty in all things. Welcome.

FEELING The current mood of nightngale_@hotmail.com at www.imood.com

DAILY READS

caerula
evilena
smartypants
weetabix
neon7c
plain-jane
mercurial73


LATELY
My New Page - 2006-04-15
Life is a Magic Thing, Woah. - 2005-11-18
No Dooce for You! - 2005-11-09
The Nicest Thing Anyone Has Ever Said To Me - 2005-09-05
Ugh. Grunt. Some Other Stuff. - 2005-09-01

RANDOM ENTRY

NOW PLAYING
Yuki Kajiura - A Stray Child
Staind - Zoe Jane
Carrie Treder - Inside Glow
Saliva - Rest In Pieces
Chad Kroeger - Hero
India Arie - Ready for Love
Sting - When We Dance

The WeatherPixie

My eBay Sales

Coveting: Hummingbird Spindles (scroll down)and Spinderella's Thrums. That would be like spinning magic.

NOTES
(log in?)
DISCLAIMER
I can't imagine there would be much here to offend anyone, and you're also not required to read these words. If you don't like them, thanks for stopping by, and adios!

all words � ME, 2005.