*some assembly required



Plop, Plop
assembled @ 10:33 a.m. on 2004-02-19

To quote Tori Amos, "I dyed my hair red today." Well, yesterday, really. But there were no song lyrics about that. I haven't had my hair red for a while, and I forgot how much I liked it. I feel all spunky again, and I look really pretty in pink, too. (Another song lyric! It's almost a theme!)

I was going to go to my knitting Meetup last night, but after the next person scheduled at work showed up two hours late, I felt more like being with my family. We ended up eating a quick dinner and then going to the mall to let Pearl run and play and tire herself out on the giant foam food they have there. She tends to gravitate to other parents standing around though, and yesterday, though it was really, really silly, I almost felt like crying. There was this really nice lady, and Pearl kept sitting on her lap, playing with her. But when I went to her (Pearl, not the other lady), she ran away from me, and didn't want to play with me. Even though I kept reminding myself that it wasn't personal, I still felt just a little rejected and weepy. Eventually, though, I had to take Pearl away, because the woman's daughter was getting really upset and jealous. Poor thing. Honestly, though, I was glad to have the excuse. I felt just a little bit strange following this woman around while she played with my little girl.

Then there was the minor drama in which a little boy ran full tilt into Pearl and pushed her down. His dad made him apologize, and then a second boy that was playing with the first started comforting Pearl. It was so cute that I got a little weepy again. He gently stroked her cheek and said, "It's ok, you don't have to cry anymore. I'm five years old, how old are you?" And then the three of them ran off together to play tag. Ah, the forgiveness of youth.

Also, while we were at the mall, I noticed I am getting old. (So much happens at the mall, apparently!) I used to be so proud of my excellent vision, and now that pride has bitten me in the ass, as pride usually does. Now there's a little blurry double edge around things that are sort of far away. So, I need to get my eyes checked. Which leads us back to that old familiar conversation: Hero needs a job. Some days that conversation is more like "Hero needs a *#$@! job", but not every day. Anyhow, I have to get ready for work now, so you are all spared my endless complaining and current lack of writing skills. (Ever notice how some days, the words just flow from your fingers, and on others, they plop out sort of like cold, lumpy oatmeal from a garden hose?)

--N

then || now

NAVIGATION
current
archives
cast
rings
profile
email
notes
guestbook
design
diaryland


I AM a 30-year-old mother of 2. I'm a singer, a songwriter, an independent business woman, an artist, a seer of beauty in all things. Welcome.

FEELING The current mood of nightngale_@hotmail.com at www.imood.com

DAILY READS

caerula
evilena
smartypants
weetabix
neon7c
plain-jane
mercurial73


LATELY
My New Page - 2006-04-15
Life is a Magic Thing, Woah. - 2005-11-18
No Dooce for You! - 2005-11-09
The Nicest Thing Anyone Has Ever Said To Me - 2005-09-05
Ugh. Grunt. Some Other Stuff. - 2005-09-01

RANDOM ENTRY

NOW PLAYING
Yuki Kajiura - A Stray Child
Staind - Zoe Jane
Carrie Treder - Inside Glow
Saliva - Rest In Pieces
Chad Kroeger - Hero
India Arie - Ready for Love
Sting - When We Dance

The WeatherPixie

My eBay Sales

Coveting: Hummingbird Spindles (scroll down)and Spinderella's Thrums. That would be like spinning magic.

NOTES
(log in?)
DISCLAIMER
I can't imagine there would be much here to offend anyone, and you're also not required to read these words. If you don't like them, thanks for stopping by, and adios!

all words � ME, 2005.