*some assembly required



Two Kinds of Needles
assembled @ 12:32 a.m. on 2004-11-29

Today, I finally did something that I�ve been wanting to do for a few years: I got my nostril pierced. I�ve researched, and read, looked at pictures and thought a lot. I�ve talked about it with friends and I finally realized that the �right time� I�d been waiting for is now. I�m not living with someone that I�m worried about impressing. I don�t have a job in which I have to look a certain way. I�m also a damn grown-up already. As a bonus, the local body art place was having a 50% off sale, so it was crazy cheap. That never hurts. I took the plunge, and I�m very happy with it. I have a tiny little silver stud on the right side of my nose, and it makes my roundish nose look decidedly more elegant.

It didn�t hurt as much as I thought it would to get it, though it did hurt more afterwards than I expected. I have a tattoo, but I�ve never had a piercing, other than my ears, and that was when I was 10 years old. It was also at a jewelry store at the mall, with a piercing gun. Shiver. Anyhow, afterwards, my nose was doing this icky throbbing thing for a bit; my forehead even hurt, especially when I would bend over to pick up the children�s� toys and the blood would flow to my head. Also, I move my nose more than I ever realized. But I love how it looks, and as soon as I can, I�m going to get a pretty semi-precious stone to put there, I�m thinking maybe my birthstone (garnet) or maybe even a small ring. I know I can�t change the jewelry for a while, but I�m looking forward to trying different looks.

Hah. Thirty years old and I�m finally brave enough to start dressing and looking the way that I�ve always wanted to.

--------------------------------------------

I got to visit with Natalie on Friday! She and I went to high school together, many moons ago, and though we�ve kept in touch (and in many ways, grown closer) since then, I haven�t actually seen her since just after Hero and I were married, over 6 years ago. We had so much fun, babysitting her wee new niece, watching Jon Wesley Harding, whom I had somehow never heard before, and I passed on my spinning addiction! Which also taught me that I am not (yet) qualified to be a spinning teacher. My hands know what to do, but my mouth and brain don�t know how to explain it. Or rather, my brain knows how to visualize pretty pictures of what to do, and my mouth says, �Um. yeah� take that, and do.. this right here� then� yeah� you�ve got it.� (That was totally not meant to be as perverted as it sounds. Hey Natalie�. Orifice).

Anyhow, she picked it up like a pro, and I can�t believe how evenly she was spinning already. My first skein looked like big fat beads on thread, and I still wish I had taken it with me to show her. Lesson number one: when teaching a new spinner, show them your meager virgin efforts. They�ll feel better about their own. And probably laugh a little too. A little laughter is good for the soul.

So I had a wonderful time, I learned how to Norwegian Purl and Natalie is awesome and creative and somehow designs her own knitwear, a skill I totally covet. I can�t wait to snitch her pattern for cabled wrist warmers.

--N

then || now

NAVIGATION
current
archives
cast
rings
profile
email
notes
guestbook
design
diaryland


I AM a 30-year-old mother of 2. I'm a singer, a songwriter, an independent business woman, an artist, a seer of beauty in all things. Welcome.

FEELING The current mood of nightngale_@hotmail.com at www.imood.com

DAILY READS

caerula
evilena
smartypants
weetabix
neon7c
plain-jane
mercurial73


LATELY
My New Page - 2006-04-15
Life is a Magic Thing, Woah. - 2005-11-18
No Dooce for You! - 2005-11-09
The Nicest Thing Anyone Has Ever Said To Me - 2005-09-05
Ugh. Grunt. Some Other Stuff. - 2005-09-01

RANDOM ENTRY

NOW PLAYING
Yuki Kajiura - A Stray Child
Staind - Zoe Jane
Carrie Treder - Inside Glow
Saliva - Rest In Pieces
Chad Kroeger - Hero
India Arie - Ready for Love
Sting - When We Dance

The WeatherPixie

My eBay Sales

Coveting: Hummingbird Spindles (scroll down)and Spinderella's Thrums. That would be like spinning magic.

NOTES
(log in?)
DISCLAIMER
I can't imagine there would be much here to offend anyone, and you're also not required to read these words. If you don't like them, thanks for stopping by, and adios!

all words � ME, 2005.