*some assembly required



Complete Perfection
assembled @ 1:34 a.m. on 2005-01-08

Oh, so lax. So busy. Type, type, type, knit, knit, knit, spin, spin, spin, clean, clean, clean, calls, emails, pay bills, run errands, lather, rinse, repeat. But it�s all good. I�m being so creative, fiber art ideas flying around my head, starting to invade my sleeping dreams, too. There is one art project that I�m all hung up on: some animal illustrations for a deck of cards for kids. I had what I thought was an awesome idea, and then I realized just how difficult it was going to be, so now I�m trying a modified version of it, and I just feel like I�m way behind. Art on demand. I suppose that since I studied graphic design, I should be prepared for that, but on some level, I just really resist it. To the point of self-sabotage, sometimes. But I don�t think that will happen this time. I�m too driven these days to complete what I begin. I have enough unfinished things swimming around in my head. It�s like swatting down flies, catching hummingbirds. Finishing off one spinny-headed project at a time and wishing there were three of me. So I�m not willing to leave the big things undone, to haunt me when I�m falling asleep at night, and when I take time to play with my kids, or to take any kind of time for any kind of recreation. �Just get it done,� my brain has been chanting lately.

That mantra reminds me of a phrase that Joan had taped to her computer monitor, at Heritage. �Get it done, make it gorgeous.� I try to remind myself of that, especially in my creative efforts. Sometimes, though.. well, more often than I care to admit to myself, the �make it gorgeous� part drops off and I�m left with �GET IT DONE�. That�s ok for the dishes and laundry and dusting, but not for the spinning and knitting, teaching and playing with the kids. Maybe I should tape that on my monitor, to remind me not just of the finished product, but the beauty of the completeness of it. Even just dusting.

Get it done. Make it gorgeous.

--N

then || now

NAVIGATION
current
archives
cast
rings
profile
email
notes
guestbook
design
diaryland


I AM a 30-year-old mother of 2. I'm a singer, a songwriter, an independent business woman, an artist, a seer of beauty in all things. Welcome.

FEELING The current mood of nightngale_@hotmail.com at www.imood.com

DAILY READS

caerula
evilena
smartypants
weetabix
neon7c
plain-jane
mercurial73


LATELY
My New Page - 2006-04-15
Life is a Magic Thing, Woah. - 2005-11-18
No Dooce for You! - 2005-11-09
The Nicest Thing Anyone Has Ever Said To Me - 2005-09-05
Ugh. Grunt. Some Other Stuff. - 2005-09-01

RANDOM ENTRY

NOW PLAYING
Yuki Kajiura - A Stray Child
Staind - Zoe Jane
Carrie Treder - Inside Glow
Saliva - Rest In Pieces
Chad Kroeger - Hero
India Arie - Ready for Love
Sting - When We Dance

The WeatherPixie

My eBay Sales

Coveting: Hummingbird Spindles (scroll down)and Spinderella's Thrums. That would be like spinning magic.

NOTES
(log in?)
DISCLAIMER
I can't imagine there would be much here to offend anyone, and you're also not required to read these words. If you don't like them, thanks for stopping by, and adios!

all words � ME, 2005.