*some assembly required



How
assembled @ 9:04 p.m. on 2004-12-29

I don�t even know what to say about this and this. I guess that�s why I�m writing here, just sort of rambling. I want to stick my head in the sand and try to forget. I know horrible, �unthinkable� things happen every day around the world, and I can easily divide my mind in two about it. One, it�s human nature to be at least slightly narcissistic. The less it affects me, the less I feel for or about it. Then there�s the second part of it, the dichotomy of it, that everything affects everyone, that we are all connected, and I truly believe that. How do I find a balance between the overwhelming-ness of the responsibility, and the responsibility part of the responsibility? It seems that there is so much hatred in the world, and how do I transform that? Is it too small minded and self-centered to say, I�ll change it all by making my little corner a better place? But what else can I do?

Then there�s my belief in the basic goodness of human beings, which actually, isn�t disproved by all the things that are happening. I think the most shattering part of this is thinking that we, the Americans, the ones who are supposed to be the heroes, the just, the freedom fighters, we are the bad guys. Not just the comic book bad guys, but the worst kind of scary, steal-your-family bad guys. That we are the worst part of us that the rest of the world is saying we are, we are evil through and through. But then I think that it�s unfair to generalize anyone. Not every American is a raping infidel occupier; just as not every Iraqi is a wild animal, incapable of governing his or her own country. I�m not even sure what I�m saying here, and I�m definitely not saying it as eloquently as those writers at the above links. I just had to say something. Even something completely useless.

--N

then || now

NAVIGATION
� current
� archives
� cast
� rings
� profile
� email
� notes
� guestbook
� design
� diaryland


I AM a 30-year-old mother of 2. I'm a singer, a songwriter, an independent business woman, an artist, a seer of beauty in all things. Welcome.

FEELING The current mood of nightngale_@hotmail.com at www.imood.com

DAILY READS

caerula
evilena
smartypants
weetabix
neon7c
plain-jane
mercurial73


LATELY
My New Page - 2006-04-15
Life is a Magic Thing, Woah. - 2005-11-18
No Dooce for You! - 2005-11-09
The Nicest Thing Anyone Has Ever Said To Me - 2005-09-05
Ugh. Grunt. Some Other Stuff. - 2005-09-01

RANDOM ENTRY

NOW PLAYING
Yuki Kajiura - A Stray Child
Staind - Zoe Jane
Carrie Treder - Inside Glow
Saliva - Rest In Pieces
Chad Kroeger - Hero
India Arie - Ready for Love
Sting - When We Dance

The WeatherPixie

My eBay Sales

Coveting: Hummingbird Spindles (scroll down)and Spinderella's Thrums. That would be like spinning magic.

NOTES
(log in?)
DISCLAIMER
I can't imagine there would be much here to offend anyone, and you're also not required to read these words. If you don't like them, thanks for stopping by, and adios!

all words � ME, 2005.