*some assembly required



Stupidity can be painful
assembled @ 8:39 p.m. on 2004-12-04

Oh, I did a stupid thing today. A reeeeeally stupid thing. I changed my nostril jewelry by myself. Yes, 6 days after I had it pierced. Yes, it hurt. Yes, my nose may become an infected lump of meat and fall off. No, probably not (fingers crossed), but it was disgusting. When I went to have the piercer change the jewelry Tuesday, he said to come back in a week, because the piercing was still so new that, if he took the ring out, he might not be able to find the hole again. �P�shaw!� I said to myself in my arrogance, and I thought that I was right when, four days later, I took the silver disk screw out and I could still clearly see the outer hole. So I slipped the new nostril screw in halfway and it stopped. It really hurt when I tried to get it past the last turn so that the jewel would be against my nose. I stopped, took a deep breath, and tried again. Ouch. Ouchouchouchouchouch. It obviously wasn�t working, so I put a finger in my nose (aren�t you just loving this story?) to see if I could coax it in more easily that way. Wait a second� where�s the other end? And what�s this lump here, under the skin?

Oh.

That�s what he meant by �unable to find the hole.�

So, trying not to think about what I had been doing to the flesh inside my nose, I wiggled the screw gently until it popped through the inner side of the hole and then I washed it thoroughly with anti-bacterial soap, which I usually don�t like to use (super-resistant germs, you know), but when I have a hole in my face, you bet I�ll take precautions.

Congratulations if you�re still reading. I bare my stupidity for you, gentle reader that you may not make the same mistake I did. May you be a good pierced person, and do what the nice man at the tattoo studio tells you.

--N

then || now

NAVIGATION
current
archives
cast
rings
profile
email
notes
guestbook
design
diaryland


I AM a 30-year-old mother of 2. I'm a singer, a songwriter, an independent business woman, an artist, a seer of beauty in all things. Welcome.

FEELING The current mood of nightngale_@hotmail.com at www.imood.com

DAILY READS

caerula
evilena
smartypants
weetabix
neon7c
plain-jane
mercurial73


LATELY
My New Page - 2006-04-15
Life is a Magic Thing, Woah. - 2005-11-18
No Dooce for You! - 2005-11-09
The Nicest Thing Anyone Has Ever Said To Me - 2005-09-05
Ugh. Grunt. Some Other Stuff. - 2005-09-01

RANDOM ENTRY

NOW PLAYING
Yuki Kajiura - A Stray Child
Staind - Zoe Jane
Carrie Treder - Inside Glow
Saliva - Rest In Pieces
Chad Kroeger - Hero
India Arie - Ready for Love
Sting - When We Dance

The WeatherPixie

My eBay Sales

Coveting: Hummingbird Spindles (scroll down)and Spinderella's Thrums. That would be like spinning magic.

NOTES
(log in?)
DISCLAIMER
I can't imagine there would be much here to offend anyone, and you're also not required to read these words. If you don't like them, thanks for stopping by, and adios!

all words � ME, 2005.