*some assembly required



Random Five
assembled @ 4:26 p.m. on 2003-06-13

Oh, it is warm here. Humid and warm, and I think our air conditioner must be clogged with cat hair (again), because I just don't feel the cool breezes. Darn cats. I think I will shave them. Here, kitty, kitty, kitty!

But look! It's Friday, and I am actually writing my Friday Five! See, Friday the 13th is always a good day for me. In a few minutes, my Hero is taking Pearl outside to play, and I will be all by my happy self. Yes, it's to wrap his Father's Day gift, and clean up the apartment, but still. I even get to go to the bathroom by myself! (Those of you with toddlers know what I'm talking about.)

The Friday Five

1. What's the one thing you've always wanted to do, but never have?

Travel to Europe, and other places around the world, but mostly Europe. As long as I can remember I've wanted to go to England, Scotland, Ireland. The list has grown to include France, Rome and Venice now, and also to climb Mt. Fuji, in Japan. (Yes, I know that's not in Europe.) I had once planned to backpack around Europe the summer after high school graduation, staying in hostels and getting to know the people and culture. It never happened. Or, I should say, it hasn't happened yet. I will go someday. Scotland will be my first stop.

2. When someone asks your opinion about a new haircut/outfit/etc, are you always honest?

Nope. I will never rip them to shreds, even if they're wearing some godawful get-up. A lot of it depends on the person, and why they're asking. If they're my best friend, going on a first date, then I'll be honest, but dimplomatic. Even with someone I'm not close to, I'll always be diplomatic, trying to find something good about their appearance, and that's usually not hard. And if it's something like a haircut, and it's awful, I keep in mind that there's not really much the person can do about it now, so I really don't need to make them any more self-conscious than they already are.

3. Have you ever found out something about a friend and then wished you hadn't? What happened?

Hmm... I'm a pretty easy-going person, not easily offended. I tend to love my friends for who they are with me, not because they never made a mistake in their life or because they have all the same points-of-view that I do. Even if someone else has a bad opinion about them, I won't write them off unless that friend starts being crappy to me.

There was one incident though, with the girl I considered my best friend in junior high, Krissy. She and another girl, Emily, who was sometimes my friend, but not really (she was continually cruel to me, but I was a human doormat at the time), both knew I loved to sing, that I dreamed of being a famous performer someday. One day they brought me a song that they said they had written together, and asked me to sing it, filling my head with dreams of being discovered. Nothing ever came of it, as I would have expected, looking back on it now. Krissy moved away in 9th grade, and by our senior year of high school, Emily and I hadn't been friends for a long while. Then one day, at band camp (yes, I know how it sounds, but it was at band camp), I was praticing flag movements with the rest of the color guard, which included Emily. Someone, somewhere, had a radio playing and a song came on. A song that sounded strangely familiar, but I knew I hadn't heard it on the radio before. I suddenly realized what it was, and I was both angry and very, very hurt. I looked over at Emily, who was watching me. She fell to the ground laughing. "You should have seen your face when you were singing that song!" she giggled at me.

It hurt that they used my dream against me, but what really hurt was that Krissy did it, too. I would have expected it from Emily, but Krissy was always nice to me, to my face. I never thought she would be so cruel as to go in on, or perhaps even create, such an evil prank. It hurt my memory of her as my best friend, ruined everything I thought we had together, and there was no way that I knew of to get things straight with her, as we had lost contact some time before. I think I could have lived with never finding out what they did, even if they were always laughing at me behind my back.

4. If you could live in any fictional world (from a book/movie/game/etc.) which would it be and why?

I think, for now, it would be the world of Krynn, from the Dragonlance books. That's the big, fat book I'm currently reading, and I have gotten so, so very attatched to the characters. I would like to meet them and hang out. Seeing dragons would be cool, too. I've always loved dragons. And I would like to think I could be a hero there, too. An elven warrior.

Yes, I am a geek. What of it?

5. What's one talent/skill you don't have but always wanted?

Hmm... there are many skills and talents that I don't have. Math skills, mechanical stuff. Carpentry. I can't say that I really wish I could do any of that stuff, because I really am fond of the talents I have. I love being able to sing and draw and paint and write, and I'm not really interested in those other things that I can't do. Maybe I'm not interested in them because I'm ignorant about them, but it really doesn't matter to me. I like what I can do. It makes me happy.

--N

then || now

NAVIGATION
current
archives
cast
rings
profile
email
notes
guestbook
design
diaryland


I AM a 30-year-old mother of 2. I'm a singer, a songwriter, an independent business woman, an artist, a seer of beauty in all things. Welcome.

FEELING The current mood of nightngale_@hotmail.com at www.imood.com

DAILY READS

caerula
evilena
smartypants
weetabix
neon7c
plain-jane
mercurial73


LATELY
My New Page - 2006-04-15
Life is a Magic Thing, Woah. - 2005-11-18
No Dooce for You! - 2005-11-09
The Nicest Thing Anyone Has Ever Said To Me - 2005-09-05
Ugh. Grunt. Some Other Stuff. - 2005-09-01

RANDOM ENTRY

NOW PLAYING
Yuki Kajiura - A Stray Child
Staind - Zoe Jane
Carrie Treder - Inside Glow
Saliva - Rest In Pieces
Chad Kroeger - Hero
India Arie - Ready for Love
Sting - When We Dance

The WeatherPixie

My eBay Sales

Coveting: Hummingbird Spindles (scroll down)and Spinderella's Thrums. That would be like spinning magic.

NOTES
(log in?)
DISCLAIMER
I can't imagine there would be much here to offend anyone, and you're also not required to read these words. If you don't like them, thanks for stopping by, and adios!

all words � ME, 2005.