*some assembly required



Guts
assembled @ 12:13 a.m. on 2001-12-12

I am being very hard on myself right now. It seems that, no matter how I try, this Thing comes out stilted and shallow. My life is not boring. Sure, I'm not on safari in darkest Africa, or touring with Sarah McLachlan, but I sound like such a goof to myself.

Long ago and far away (maybe), I used to care a whole lot about what people thought of me. I would say, or not say something to make sure that I didn't offend them. I would keep my self to myself, and no one would know what I was really thinking. Sure, I was safe, but God, I was lonely. Then this course came along, the Landmark Forum, and more importantly the people that I met there, and I realized that I could be me, that me was pretty cool and I had had no clue about that for all those years. I could say what I thought and I was still safe. Still loved. Now I'm slipping, I guess. I've been away from those friends, and I've made up that I'm not safe with other people. It started out slowly. When I lived in California, I still had the knack for self-expression. I shocked Hero's buddies at first, with my smart-ass remarks and candor, then I became one of the guys. Even when I moved out here to Virginia, I had some of that strength. But now I barely feel it. I am second guessing myself so often. Holding my tongue. Worrying about being left out. Thinking that I will be thought a fool. I still have that small, still voice; the one that tells me that no matter what I see, others see the truth about me and will always love me. But I feel like I'm spinning inside my head. I go in these circles of fear, then trying to fix that, then trying to stop fixing it, then fearing that I am just completely broken and worthless. It sucks. It really, really sucks. I know that I don't have to feel this way, but somehow I use that to bludgeon myself even more. Ah, well, I am having a low moment right now. I am judging the quality of my diary (as if a diary can have such a thing), and finding it lacking. Not that it is actually lacking. That's just a microcosm of how I am viewing my life right now.

I want to go home.

************************************************

No welts on my legs last night. But the night before last (Sunday night) they were all over the outsides of my legs, from hip to knee. I woke up with crazy itching at 3 am, and had to log onto the internet to research the symptoms of anthrax. But, after more research, I think they were just hives. I've never had hives before. Like I said in my last entry, I've never had any kind of allergic reaction, so I was completely at a loss. Given the timing of their appearance, I thought the hives were caused by something in our bed sheets, but that theory was shot to hell when I didn't wake up with them this morning. I was talking to Maverick yesterday, and he says they are from not being honest about something. I can think of a few issues that have been bothering me lately, that I've suppressed more than a little. The first being that I never technically graduated from college. I finished all the classes, but they wouldn't let me apply for graduation until I paid off all my tuition, and I wasn't able to do that until just before I moved to California. So now what do I do? I've done all the work, I just don't have the piece of paper that proves it. Still, to tell anyone that I have a BFA in Graphic Design is, technically, a lie. I feel like such a shit.

Second, but minor, and so I don't think this is it, is the production business. Actually, my split feelings about the business. I want the business to be successful because if it does well then not only will I be well-off financially, but I will finally have my music produced. I will finally be able to make a living by singing. And to say that that would be cool would be a gross understatement of a gross understatement. But here's my dilemma: if the business does well, do I have to stay here in Virginia to be loyal? I want so badly to move back to Michigan after Hero's enlistment is up. There's probably a way to work it out, but right now I feel like wanting to go home is undermining Prez's dream. So I never tell him that I want to go back to Michigan, fearing that he'll think I'm disloyal and drop me. Or at the very least, he won't trust me like he has.

I wish more people read this. I'd like to think that I'm talking to friends out there, or at least strangers who would offer an objective opinion. But I do feel better for having spilled my guts, even if there's no one around to mop them up. I fell cleansed, like I've laid everything out on the table.

************************************************

I was just getting ready to wrap this thing up when Pearl started crying, so I went in to comfort her. As I lay there, nursing her, I thought of how she adores me, how I am perfect to her. And, for her, I want to see myself that way. I will see myself that way. I know I am a good mother, if for no other reason than I love her so damn much. There are more reasons than that, but maybe it's time I started seeing myself through her eyes.

--N

then || now

NAVIGATION
current
archives
cast
rings
profile
email
notes
guestbook
design
diaryland


I AM a 30-year-old mother of 2. I'm a singer, a songwriter, an independent business woman, an artist, a seer of beauty in all things. Welcome.

FEELING The current mood of nightngale_@hotmail.com at www.imood.com

DAILY READS

caerula
evilena
smartypants
weetabix
neon7c
plain-jane
mercurial73


LATELY
My New Page - 2006-04-15
Life is a Magic Thing, Woah. - 2005-11-18
No Dooce for You! - 2005-11-09
The Nicest Thing Anyone Has Ever Said To Me - 2005-09-05
Ugh. Grunt. Some Other Stuff. - 2005-09-01

RANDOM ENTRY

NOW PLAYING
Yuki Kajiura - A Stray Child
Staind - Zoe Jane
Carrie Treder - Inside Glow
Saliva - Rest In Pieces
Chad Kroeger - Hero
India Arie - Ready for Love
Sting - When We Dance

The WeatherPixie

My eBay Sales

Coveting: Hummingbird Spindles (scroll down)and Spinderella's Thrums. That would be like spinning magic.

NOTES
(log in?)
DISCLAIMER
I can't imagine there would be much here to offend anyone, and you're also not required to read these words. If you don't like them, thanks for stopping by, and adios!

all words � ME, 2005.