*some assembly required



The Weekend Was Beautiful
assembled @ 1:46 p.m. on 2002-06-10

The Weekend Was Beautiful



take the butt quiz.


and go to mewing.net. why not visit the site of someone who made a quiz about butts?

18

I act like I'm 18.
This test was brought to you by Mel - mostly.... Take it here.

----------------------------------------------

Have any of you seen the recent Nissan pickup commercial? The truck is driving down a road, la-dee-da, at night, and suddenly a UFO appears and catches the truck in its tractor beam. At this point, at the bottom of the screen appears "Professional driver on closed course. Do not attempt." Uh, ok.

----------------------------------------------

I got those moles removed Friday. It was simultaneously awful and not so bad. I met the doctor who would be removing them, and he was very friendly, has a sense of humor, and treats me like an intelligent adult. All things that I look for in a health care provider. Also, his name will be easy for me to remember, as it is pronounced mole-er. Both Dr. M, and Mr. C, the med student who was assisting him, were wonderful. They numbed me up and removed the two non-troubling moles, at which point I got had my first -- and hopefully last -- encounter with the smell of burning flesh. Ew.

The troubling mole was a bit more difficult to remove. Dr. M noticed it right away when I removed my shirt, which made me feel justified in my fear, but also worrried me a bit more. Also, this mole was flush with my skin, so Dr. M had to remove it surgically. Basically, he had to cut a small chunk out of my skin and close it with a stitch. Dr. W, the doctor I first saw to get those moles checked out, he came in while Dr. M was working. Again, he patted me on the knee and again said the mole was "nothing to lose sleep over" and "looked very benign". Somehow that is even less comforting the second time around. When a doctor says the same thing to you twice like that, it starts to sound more like a rote line than an actual diagnosis. But Dr. W is retiring in July, which confirms my thoughts that he is an old school doctor, when they were trained to be more paternal to the patient, rather than treat them like an equal. It doesn't matter now anyhow. I am making Dr. M my primary care physician, I am going to him in a few weeks for a complete physical, and I am going back on Friday to get this stitch removed.

And I am waiting a week to 10 days for the results of my biopsy.

It didn't even occur to me that a biopsy was exactly what it was until the two doctors were talking to the medical student out in the hall. I like going to a teaching clinic. My thinking is that they would be up on the latest research, they have to be honest in front of someone who's learning, and I like contributing to the greater good. If one more doctor will learn to treat patients as people, compassionately and honestly, then I will have made a significant contribution. Anyhow, I overheard bits of the conversation out in the hall, and I tried not to let it worry me too much when the word "cancer" came up, since they were just teaching at this point. But when I heard the word "biopsy" it suddenly dawned on me that that's exactly what it was. What a scary word that is.

----------------------------------------------

The weekend went a bit differently than I thought it would. Because we were going to the zoo on Sunday, we did the laundry and grocery shopping on Saturday instead of going to the blood drive. I don't think I would have been eligible to give blood anyway. I called The Red Cross to find out; they said they would get back to me, but didn't. I didn't feel like having any more sharp things around me anyway.

That evening we went to get a couple wedding gifts for Herr & Frau's wedding in July (I picked those pseudonyms because the were engaged, and will be honeymooning in, Germany). Then we went out to dinner at Don Pablo's. Mmm.... barbecue chicken fajitas. Yum, yum, yum.

The zoo trip was fun. Pearl was more interested in the other children there than in the animals, but she did like the monkies. So did I, for that matter. Many animals weren't out, and the zoo's new giraffe died that very morning (how sad!). I like the Detroit Zoo, better, however. I remember the Detroit zoo having many more open air exhibits (as opposed to cages) and much more variety. Still, it is very fun to take a toddler to the zoo.

The 250th Birth Party was fun, too, as Pearl had tons of children to look at, and I got to see, and hug, Nell, our midwife. She always made me feel taken care of, and I'm a bit sad that we won't be having anymore children at that birth center. Hero and I both want to have our next child back home in Michigan.

Another good thing about the party was watching Hero enjoy watching the children. Since he has become a daddy, he has really begun to like children. Not that he didn't like them before. He didn't care one way or the other, really. Now, he smiles when he sees them, and that is a wonderful thing to see.

--N

then || now

NAVIGATION
current
archives
cast
rings
profile
email
notes
guestbook
design
diaryland


I AM a 30-year-old mother of 2. I'm a singer, a songwriter, an independent business woman, an artist, a seer of beauty in all things. Welcome.

FEELING The current mood of nightngale_@hotmail.com at www.imood.com

DAILY READS

caerula
evilena
smartypants
weetabix
neon7c
plain-jane
mercurial73


LATELY
My New Page - 2006-04-15
Life is a Magic Thing, Woah. - 2005-11-18
No Dooce for You! - 2005-11-09
The Nicest Thing Anyone Has Ever Said To Me - 2005-09-05
Ugh. Grunt. Some Other Stuff. - 2005-09-01

RANDOM ENTRY

NOW PLAYING
Yuki Kajiura - A Stray Child
Staind - Zoe Jane
Carrie Treder - Inside Glow
Saliva - Rest In Pieces
Chad Kroeger - Hero
India Arie - Ready for Love
Sting - When We Dance

The WeatherPixie

My eBay Sales

Coveting: Hummingbird Spindles (scroll down)and Spinderella's Thrums. That would be like spinning magic.

NOTES
(log in?)
DISCLAIMER
I can't imagine there would be much here to offend anyone, and you're also not required to read these words. If you don't like them, thanks for stopping by, and adios!

all words � ME, 2005.