*some assembly required



St. Pat's Entry
assembled @ 1:51 p.m. on 2002-03-17

Prez is having a gig on Easter (a weird day to have one, if you ask me, but anyow), and I will be performing there. Yep, lil' ol' me. Cripes. Every time I think about it, I feel a little more than slightly nauseous. I am so nervous. It's a combination of stage fright and fear of failure. Failure in the sense that I might screw up the song I choose to sing, and failure in the sense that the song I choose will be universally unpopular with the audience. I have always had an incredible imagination; sometimes it serves me very well, and other times it contributes to my nightmares. Now I imagine every person in the audience falling silent and looking at me like "what's the white girl doing on stage?" Yes, I am stereo-typing the imagined stereo-types that the audience will have. That's how creative I am. Geesh.

Ok, new picture. I walk out on stage, and people are stuck by my grace and confidence. I pick up the mike, the music starts. Then my voice begins: low at first, quiet, then rising and falling like wind, with power and beauty. I can do it. I know that I can do it if I just feel the music and sing because I love it and not to do it right. That's how Sara Hughes won her gold medal. She said that, in previous performances, she always worried about how she would place, but in her gold-winning performance, she decided to just skate for the love of it. It must have showed to the judges. I will just be a singer.

I have my gold membership back! Whoopee! I almost got a year's subscription but I had no idea what to do for a banner ad, so I am giving myself 6 months to think about it.

Oh! And now that I can have pictures in here again, here is the picture of my first-ever quilt block! I finished six more since then, all very lovely, and a bit more square, but this is the first.

Friday night, I had a brief Brush with Fame. Hero, Pearl, Casanova and I went out to dinner and a movie. It was a sort of thanks to Casanova for carting Hero to work for two days and helping him fix the flat tire that was discovered when he was leaving for work on Thursday. Anyway, in the Hampton Roads area, we have these Drive-By Weather Boards, featuring the latest weather conditions and two of Channel 10's weather guys. (I've tried and tried to find a picture, and I can't). The first time I saw the board, I thought the two men looked awfully...er... intimate, so I dubbed them The Weather Partners. Well, as we were leaving the food court of the mall, I saw a man who looked very familiar, yet I couldn't place him. We made eye contact briefly, and he either thought I was a freak for staring or is used to being looked at strangely, because it was

Don Slater, one of the Weather Partners. I had to catch up with Hero, who laughed when I told him, and then he had to explain the whole thing to Casanova. Casanova, by the way, is also disturbed by the Drive-By Weather Boards. It's not just me, people.'

After dinner and a movie, the four of us returned home, where we sat around for a couple of hours and talked while Pearl climbed all over Casanova and took his wallet. It was really nice to have a friend over. We haven't done that in a long while. Since living in California, really.

Pearl was sick last night, vomiting each time she ate. I didn't panic, but I was scared. She didn't have a fever, and when I researched her symptoms on Baby Center, I found she most likely had a stomach bug. So we went to bed, and she's fine this morning, though a little pale. Whew. Being a mom can be scarier than I imagined.

And Happy St. Patrick's Day! That makes this my official St. Pat's Entry.

--N

then || now

NAVIGATION
current
archives
cast
rings
profile
email
notes
guestbook
design
diaryland


I AM a 30-year-old mother of 2. I'm a singer, a songwriter, an independent business woman, an artist, a seer of beauty in all things. Welcome.

FEELING The current mood of nightngale_@hotmail.com at www.imood.com

DAILY READS

caerula
evilena
smartypants
weetabix
neon7c
plain-jane
mercurial73


LATELY
My New Page - 2006-04-15
Life is a Magic Thing, Woah. - 2005-11-18
No Dooce for You! - 2005-11-09
The Nicest Thing Anyone Has Ever Said To Me - 2005-09-05
Ugh. Grunt. Some Other Stuff. - 2005-09-01

RANDOM ENTRY

NOW PLAYING
Yuki Kajiura - A Stray Child
Staind - Zoe Jane
Carrie Treder - Inside Glow
Saliva - Rest In Pieces
Chad Kroeger - Hero
India Arie - Ready for Love
Sting - When We Dance

The WeatherPixie

My eBay Sales

Coveting: Hummingbird Spindles (scroll down)and Spinderella's Thrums. That would be like spinning magic.

NOTES
(log in?)
DISCLAIMER
I can't imagine there would be much here to offend anyone, and you're also not required to read these words. If you don't like them, thanks for stopping by, and adios!

all words � ME, 2005.