*some assembly required



Long Overdue
assembled @ 9:47 a.m. on 2002-04-05

I should be going to sleep right now, since I have to drive Hero to work tomorrow at an ungodly hour. But I wanted to at least start this entry. The last few days have been quite full, plus I've been cutting down on my computer time, so I haven't had much chance to type.

First, a big shout-out to whoever keeps searching for me via Google and "Everquest addiction". I'm not even sure that it's only one person, but whoever you are, hello.

Maverick has been and gone, and I'm more than a bit sad about that. A weekend was far too short a time for a visit. He says that in August or September, he will try to visit for a week! Yay!

I had forgotten what amazing things could happen around Mav. First, in his wonderful generosity, he gave Hero and I a DVD player, something that we've been wanting for quite a while. And the Shrek DVD to go with it. Then we were out at dinner on Friday night, and we had the Awesome Waiter. Maverick got along with him famously, so much so that they somehow got on the subject of recording, and it turns out that Awesome Waiter has a sound booth. A sound booth that he said I could use, anytime. How awesome is that?! And that kind of stuff happens quite a bit when Mav's around. What a wonderful friend I have.

Still, he is back in Michigan already, and now we miss each other even more. Only a year and 5 months to go!

So, my performance. Eek. And not so eek. First of all, Hero, Pearl, Mav and I spent pretty much all day Saturday at the mall, with me trying to decide on something in the Glam Rock Girl category. I ended up going with the Classy Nightclub Singer look, with a lovely shirt from Eddie Bauer (thanks Mav). At least I can wear this shirt to things besides performances. I paired it with my black capris, and black nylons and heels, spiked my hair out as much as it would spike (which is not much), put on lots of makeup, and was ready to go. We (Hero, Maverick, Casanova and I) got there at ten till 6, about 20 minutes later than I had planned. Still, we were the first ones there. Gary showed up a little after 6:00. (That was a relief. I was afraid he'd be as late as he was to our last two gigs). The rest of the crew showed up around 7:00, and the guests started showing up about 8:00 (when the show was supposed to begin). Finally, at about 9:30 (I think) the performances began, and I was told about 2 minutes ahead of time that I would be first. My stomach flipped, but I'm glad I went first. The diva-like singers went after me, then Prez, and I believe they all outsung me. But not because I couldn't sing, or wasn't prepared, you see. I could kick-ass on those songs. But when I started singing, I couldn't hear myself, so I was feeling out of key. I had no idea where my voice was going exept by how it felt, and that was not confidence inspiring. So I tensed up, held back, and just didn't do myself justice. Still, I got up there, and I am proud of that.

Now, I am going to post this entry, even though I am sure there is more that I could write. But I haven't posted in over a week, and I don't like going that long.

--N

then || now

NAVIGATION
current
archives
cast
rings
profile
email
notes
guestbook
design
diaryland


I AM a 30-year-old mother of 2. I'm a singer, a songwriter, an independent business woman, an artist, a seer of beauty in all things. Welcome.

FEELING The current mood of nightngale_@hotmail.com at www.imood.com

DAILY READS

caerula
evilena
smartypants
weetabix
neon7c
plain-jane
mercurial73


LATELY
My New Page - 2006-04-15
Life is a Magic Thing, Woah. - 2005-11-18
No Dooce for You! - 2005-11-09
The Nicest Thing Anyone Has Ever Said To Me - 2005-09-05
Ugh. Grunt. Some Other Stuff. - 2005-09-01

RANDOM ENTRY

NOW PLAYING
Yuki Kajiura - A Stray Child
Staind - Zoe Jane
Carrie Treder - Inside Glow
Saliva - Rest In Pieces
Chad Kroeger - Hero
India Arie - Ready for Love
Sting - When We Dance

The WeatherPixie

My eBay Sales

Coveting: Hummingbird Spindles (scroll down)and Spinderella's Thrums. That would be like spinning magic.

NOTES
(log in?)
DISCLAIMER
I can't imagine there would be much here to offend anyone, and you're also not required to read these words. If you don't like them, thanks for stopping by, and adios!

all words � ME, 2005.